Five Great New Fall Releases! (Enter to Win!)

Thanks to all those who entered, and congrats to our winner! Keep posted with the Sylvan Dell Blog to hear about new contests and giveaways.

Sylvan Dell Publishing will release five educational science or math-themed children’s picture books Aug. 10, 2011.  As with all Sylvan Dell books, these new titles offer a complete reading experience with exceptional prose, art, and free educational features both in the back of the book and online at www.SylvanDellPublishing.com.   Sylvan Dell holds all books to state educational standards, making them a valuable tool both in the classroom and at home.   (See below for contest details.)

Prairie Storms– Cozy up for this great rainy day read! Prairie Storms gives you a front row seat to learn about a year of ever-changing prairie weather, and how the animals living in these grasslands adapt and survive in this harsh climate. Each month, read about a new animal, and learn about everything from how a prairie grouse can survive the January snows to how an earless lizards escapes the harsh, unrelenting drought of August. Told in lyrical prose, this story is a celebration of the great American prairies.

Hey Diddle Diddle- Hey Diddle Diddle is a whimsical journey along a riparian food web through the songs and antics of eight interconnected species. From a shiny green beetle “tappin’ his feet and singin’ a song” to a smug bobcat that feels like the “queen” of the jungle, readers will observe several colorful characters moving through three food chains in a familiar North American habitat.

Animalogy- Compare and contrast different animals through predictable, rhyming analogies. Find the similarities between even the most incompatible animals . . . bat is to flit as eagle is to soar; dog is to bark as lion is to roar. Comparisons include sounds, physical adaptations, behaviors, and animal classes and are so fun, readers learn without even realizing it! Animals are to nature, as Animalogy is to fun!

Multiply on the Fly- From pirate bugs to spittlebugs to lovely Luna moths, children will love learning about the world’s insects in Multiply on the Fly! Following in the footsteps of What’s New at the Zoo? and What’s the Difference?, this rhythmic book teaches multiplication in a way that will make children “bug” you for more. Teeming with fun facts, readers will multiply a variety of insects, including daring dragonflies, hungry honeybees, and stealthy walking sticks. The “For Creative Minds” section includes facts about the insect life cycle, matching insect activities, and enough multiplication guides to make anyone a multiplication master.

Ten For Me- Two friends take off on a butterfly hunt, only to find themselves tangled in a mathematics net! Written in rhyme, award-winning author Barbara Mariconda takes you along as the narrator Rose and her friend Ed race to see who can catch the most butterflies on this addition adventure. “How many in all? Let’s add them again!” shout the butterfly hunters. Who will win? Ten for Me makes math fun, easy, and entertaining, while adding a touch of the natural world into cross-curricular education.

Leave a comment on this blog post about which title you’d most like to read, and get entered to win all five of our new releases! Contest ends August 31st.

70 thoughts on “Five Great New Fall Releases! (Enter to Win!)

  1. I love the majority of Sylvan Dell titles, but I’m really eyeing that Animalogy! Then again, being a huge fan of What’s New at the Zoo, Multiply on the Fly looks great too! It’s so hard to choose just one!

  2. They all sound great but I’s choose Ten for Me. It sounds like a great way to introduce addition to my kinderkids.
    mj.coward[at]gmail.com

  3. Hello Sylvan Dell! I would love to enter this contest! I think I would be happy with any of these books because I love animals & environmental artwork. Animalogy I would love to read because the title sounds like a wealth of information inside and with stunning detailed artwork! Woot Woot! Good job!

  4. I would like to read animology. The science concepts go right along with our science curriculum. It sounds like it will be fun to read & listen to as well.

  5. Ten For Me would be the one I want to read most. I love butterflies and their life cycle. Reading is rhyme also helps kids get into a groove when reading and then show them that there is math in everything around us.
    Janet Gagne

  6. I would love to read any of these books but I would especially like to read Ten for Me. It looks very engaging and I think could be very useful for a math mini lesson.

  7. I would really like to read Prairie Storms. Thank you so much for the chance to win these. They look great. I would love to read them all. Thanks again.

    agent_beckster(at)yahoo(dot)com

  8. I think my favorite would be Prairie Storms. I think it sounds interesting how they add a new animal each month and the illustrations look BEAUTIFUL. I really appreciate beautiful illustrations.

  9. I would most enjoy reading Multiply On The Fly because it combines science and math in a meaningful way to bring both enjoyment of reading and learning about insects while practicing basic multiplication skills.

  10. Multiply on the fly. My 5 year old loves nature and science. What great books. As a homeschooling mother of three I could defiantly put these to good use. Thank you for the opportunity.

    • Hi Janet-While we do not currently offer the Spanish language option in hardcover and paperback, all our eBooks have the multi-language English/Spanish option. If you are interested in seeing one of our eBooks, I encourage you to check out http://www.SylvanDellPublishing.com and view our “eBook of the month” (currently Deep in the Desert) in the upper right-hand corner of our homepage. Thanks for your interest!

  11. I’d be thrilled with any of Sylvan’s releases. If I absolutely have to choose only one, though, it would be Multiply on the Fly. It looks like just the ticket for getting kids into the swing of using neuonics for memory retention on those hard to remember multiplication patterns.

  12. Definitely “Animology”! My gifted kids will be researching endangered animals this fall and we always study analogies of all kinds throughout the year. What a great way to combine them!!

  13. Prairie Storms – We tell our son he is a meteorologist because he is always telling us whether it is going to be sunny or cloudy or rainy. He even says he dreams about tornadoes! I think we would enjoy reading this one together.

  14. OOHHH Multiply on the fly — We are going to cover multiplication this year and I am looking for anything that is a math based concept book to back up our lessons!! Thank you for the opportunity to win!!

  15. I think Hey Diddle Diddle is great way for kids to learn about the food chain. I’d love to read this to my twin grandchildren!

  16. I love to read Hey Diddle Dee. I love books so much and I love reading about all the food chains too. Thank You for this privilege to possibly win.

  17. My favorite is Multiply on the Fly – I love all the different insects and I think kids should be taught how unique they are, and how they shouldn’t be afraid of them.

  18. I’d choose Prairie Storms first because I admire Darcy Pattison’s work, but I already own it! so I’d choose Animology second. It sounds like a unique and interesting treatment of a crowd-pleasing subject.

  19. I look forward to reading Animology. I love Marianne Berkes and am so pleased to see Sylvan Dell include her newest release in this giveaway.

  20. We enjoyed a visit with Marianne Berkes last year. I am looking forward to reading her new book, Animalogy. All of the new titles appear to be “must haves” for the elementary library. Kathleen

  21. I would most love to read Animalogy by Marianne Berkes. My students love all of her books and want to read them again and again. Rhyming books help my students become fluent readers. I bet Animalogy will become one of their favorites to read this year!

  22. I would most like to read Animalogy. I think the idea of introducing Analogies at a very young age is brilliant! I also LOVE the illustrations!
    The author is coming to visit our school (FLorida School for the Deaf and Blind) in September and we are all getting very excited about meeting her!

  23. Multiply on the Fly looks readly cute. We are doing a bug unit study in our homeschool and it would fit in nicely. All 5 of these books would be an asset to any homeschool library!
    Melanie

  24. Multiply on the Fly sounds like a great combo that can help build skills. Facts about critters + math where the answers aren’t spelled out for you, real critical thinking and analysis is involved. I really believe if you help a child not be intimidated to read, you’re giving them a gift for life.

  25. They all look wonderful but I’d have to say that my 5 year old grandson would love Multiply on the Fly…he is really into bugs now & this would be right up his alley!
    Thanks for the chance…ruthiekb72ATyahooDOTcom

  26. I love, love, love Marianne Berkes’ writing, so I know that Animalogy will be a winner! Besides, how many other authors have written analogy books for very young readers? None that I know of. So, kudos for her for writing it and kudos to Sylvan Dell for publishing it.

  27. Looking at Prairie Storms , that looks very inestering on teaching my Grand children how different animals adapt and survive in the grasslands and climates.

  28. I’d like to read Animology because it’s the only one I haven’t read yet, and they are all so good! The students at my school love Ms. Berkes.

  29. I saw Animology at the NSTA convention last week in San Antonio. One of my peers bought the last copy you had. I can’t wait to get one of my own.

Leave a Reply

